JOHNSON COUNTY CONSERVATION BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES January 18, 2022

BOARD MEMBERS:

Gene Zdrazil, President Bill Waldie, Vice President Carolyn Buckingham, Secretary Bonnie Winslow-Garvin Connie Mutel STAFF MEMBERS:

Larry Gullett, Director (via Zoom)
Emily Allen, Office Assistant
Dave Gustafson, Asst. Op. Supt.
Brad Herrig, Utility Person

Wade Schultz, Op. Supt. (via Zoom)

OTHER STAFF:

Susie Nehring, Asst. County Attorney Lisa Green-Douglass, Board of Supervisors (via Zoom)

President Gene Zdrazil called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm.

Minutes:

Motion was made by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin to approve the Johnson County Conservation Board Regular Meeting minutes of December 21, 2021. Second by Carolyn Buckingham with a unanimous vote.

Bills:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve department 24 bills in the amount of \$22,250.89, department 35 in the amount of \$29,030.30, department 40 in the amount of \$1,245.83, department 82 in the amount of \$64,222.31, department 83 in the amount of \$10,396.15, department 85 Sutliff Bridge/CRC Entry in the amount of \$3,076.66. Second by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin with a unanimous vote.

Connie Mutel joined the meeting at 5:34 pm. Lisa Green-Douglass joined the meeting at 5:40 pm.

Directors Report:

Director Larry Gullett reviewed staff activities and financial reports.

Discussion by Public:

No public present.

Business:

1. Discussion – Meet Brad Herrig, new Utility Person with Johnson County Conservation.

Discussion only.

2. Discussion/Action – Annual review of bylaws.

Discussion only. No recommendations or changes.

3. Discussion/Action – Engineering and permitting services agreement with Shive-Hattery for design of a dump station wastewater treatment system at Kent Park.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve the agreement with Shive-Hattery for the Engineering and permitting services agreement with Shive-Hattery for design of a dump station wastewater treatment system at Kent Park contingent on the approval of the Director and Assistant County Attorney of a cost itemization of services. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

4. Discussion/Action – Construction Services Agreement with Shive-Hattery for the entryway project at Cedar River Crossing and Sutliff Bridge

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to enter into the Construction Services Agreement with Shive-Hattery for the entryway project at Cedar River Crossing and Sutliff Bridge. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

5. Discussion/Action – Review options and processes for the Clear Creek Trail extension project from Half Moon Ave. to Kent Park based on impact to cultural resources and a potential alternative route

Motion was made by Carolyn Buckingham to authorize the Director to begin the process of seeking public input on alternate routes. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

6. Discussion – Election of Officers for the 2022 calendar year.

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to nominate Carolyn Buckingham for President, second by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Mutel, aye; Garvin, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye. Motion was made by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin to nominate Bill Waldie for Vice President, second by Gene Zdrazil with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Mutel, aye; Garvin, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye. Motion was made by Carolyn

Buckingham to nominate Bonnie Winslow-Garvin for Secretary, second by Bill Waldie with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Mutel, aye; Garvin, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye.

7. Discussion/Action - Closed session regarding potential purchase of particular real estate. Possible closed session per 21.5(1)(j) Code of lowa to discuss purchase of particular real estate where premature disclosure could be reasonably expected to increase the price the governmental body would have to pay for that property.

No Closed Session held.

<u>Announcements/Correspondence:</u>

Next Regular Meeting of the Conservation Board – Tuesday, February 15th, 2022, 5:30 pm – Johnson County Administration Bldg., Betty Sass Room, Iowa City

Adjournment:

Motion was made by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin to adjourn at 7:14 pm. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

The above minutes were read and approved by the Johnson County Conservation Board the 15th day of February, 2022.

Signature on File

Carolyn Buckingham, President

Signature on File
Bonnie Winslow-Garvin, Secretary